Fichtelberg Schwebebahn
German Englisch

Fichtelberg House

The first definitely confirmed Fichtelberg house was built on the Fichtelberg in 1888/89 by Oskar Puschmann. It was opened on 21 July 1889 and extended for the first time in 1899. In 1910 the house was expanded again as a result of the popularity of the highest mountain in Saxony. With the construction of the Fichtelberg Cable Car in 1924 the visitor numbers climbed still further.

On the even of 25 February 1963 a fire broke out in the Fichtelberg House. 180 firemen from across the county of Annaberg were called out and took part in the firefighting. Heavy snowdrifts on the access road meant that all the firefighting equipment had to be transported up the mountain on the cable car. Hoses that had been laid from Oberwiesenthal up to the top of the mountain froze in temperatures of -15 °C and the lack of water meant that they could not put the fire out. The building was razed to its foundation walls. 

On 22 June 1965 the foundation stone for a new building was laid. By 1967, a modern Fichtelberg House with an austere, typically East German concrete architecture and integrated, plain, 42 metre-high observation tower had been completed. The GDR made 12 million marks available for its construction. The new Fichtelberg House had seating for around 600. On the ground floor was a large self-service restaurant, on the upper floor was a grill bar, a concert café and a conference room. Well known artists helped design the interior. The wooden walls of the vestibule and the room dividers in the self-service area were by Hans Brockhage. Carl-Heinz Westenburger created a mural for the end wall of the conference room, on which he depicted sporting life on the Fichtelberg. At the end of the 1990 the Fichtelberg House was converted to resemble the old building and re-opened on 18 July 1999. The newly built observation tower is only 31 metres high.

Homepage Fichtelberg House: www.hotel-fichtelberghaus.de

 
Source: 
www.wikipedia.de
© fotolia.com: Felix Meyer

 

 

Es gelten die Allgemeinen Beförderungsbedingungen. Änderungen vorbehalten.
Impressum | Datenschutz

Fichtelberg Schwebebahn

Fichtelberghaus

Das erste nachweisbare, von Oskar Puschmann projektierte Fichtelberghaus wurde in den Jahren 1888/89 auf dem Fichtelberg erbaut. Es wurde am 21. Juli 1889 eröffnet und 1899 erstmals durch einen Anbau erweitert. 1910 wurde das Haus wegen des Andrangs auf den höchsten Berg Sachsens nochmals vergrößert. Mit dem Bau der Fichtelberg-Schwebebahn im Jahr 1924 stiegen die Besucherzahlen weiter an.

Am Abend des 25. Februars 1963 brach im Fichtelberghaus ein Brand aus. 180 Feuerwehrleute aus dem gesamten Landkreis Annaberg wurden alarmiert und waren an der Brandbekämpfung beteiligt. Wegen starker Schneeverwehungen auf der Zufahrtsstraße mussten sämtliche Löschmittel mit der Schwebebahn auf den Berg gebracht werden. Wegen des Wassermangels und einer bei -15 °C eingefrorenen Schlauchleitung, die man von Oberwiesenthal auf den Berg gelegt hatte, gelang es nicht, den Brand zu löschen. Das Gebäude brannte bis auf die Grundmauern nieder.

Am 22. Juni 1965 wurde der Grundstein für ein neues Gebäude gelegt. Bis 1967 entstand ein modernes Fichtelberghaus mit einer nüchternen, DDR-typischen Betonarchitektur und einem integrierten schmucklosen, 42 m hohen Aussichtsturm. Für den Neubau stellte die DDR 12 Millionen Mark zur Verfügung. Im Erdgeschoss befand sich ein großes Selbstbedienungs-Restaurant, im Obergeschoss waren eine Grillbar, ein Konzertcafé und ein Konferenzsalon untergebracht. An der Innengestaltung wirkten namhafte Künstler mit. Die Holzwände im Vestibül und der Raumteiler in der Selbstbedienung wurden von Hans Brockhage entworfen. Carl-Heinz Westenburger schuf ein Wandbild für die Stirnwand des Salons, auf dem er das Sportleben auf dem Fichtelberg darstellte. Ende der 1990er-Jahre wurde das Fichtelberghaus in Anlehnung an das alte Gebäude umgebaut und am 18. Juli 1999 eröffnet. Der neu errichtete Aussichtsturm ist nur noch 31 m hoch.

Quelle: Wikipedia

Es gelten die Allgemeinen Beförderungsbedingungen. Änderungen vorbehalten.
Impressum | Datenschutz